Fun image

17 Jan

I’d like to say this image is rather fun compared with the many dark images I have produced previously, and It was great making it.

It shows the much altered X-ray of a child with a congenital cardiac lesion (VSD) in cardiac failure. (This is a lesion that frequently tends to close spontaneously but cardiac surgery will cure). The X-ray is set against Hong Kong harbour lights. From the chest emanate tentacles of energy that burst into blood-red embers. It is rather like fireworks. I enjoy the way the central spinal column and ribs leap out in an architectural way echoing the verticality of the lights on distant brightly lit buildings. The radiating lines come from a photo of complex spider-web decorations on a huge glass bowl.

Chest 41 C

Chest 41: Fireworks

This will be the last post for a fortnight as I shall be going abroad to deliver the wedding gift featured in the post of 30th November 2012.

I would like to thank everyone who has kindly looked at my blog particularly those of you who have made comments. Every view is an encouragement and every comment helps along the way in the very exciting art journey that I am now making.

5 Responses to “Fun image”

  1. Carrie Rubin January 18, 2013 at 12:37 pm #

    Came your way via aFrankAngle. I’m in pediatrics, so I find your xray art very interesting. Safe travels to you in your trip abroad.

    • Xraypics January 18, 2013 at 1:29 pm #

      Great to hear from you and thanks for the comment. I love paediatricians generally nice people, and really caring. Generally underrated by cardiologists, neurologists, in fact by pretty much everyone. I enjoyed your blog by the way. Must try to get hold of your novel. Tony

  2. The Bumble Files January 18, 2013 at 1:23 pm #

    Wow, this is fascinating stuff here. I came by way of Frank, too, from aFrankAngle. This is great. Keep going. Have a safe journey.

    • Xraypics January 18, 2013 at 1:25 pm #

      Hi Bumble, thanks for your comment, I’ll try to travel safely (who knows with Boeing and all the recalled planes??).Tony

Leave a Reply

