Through darkness light

7 Mar

When the darkness comes, keep an eye on the light – whatever that is for you – no matter how far away it seems.

Jan Berry 2003

However hard life is look carefully and there is always something to be joyful for. My choice of chest X-ray was from our teaching files; a two year old boy with Fallot’s tetralogy a congenital abnormality of the heart.  After the operation to repair his heart, following a very stormy infancy he survived to live a useful life. He was one of very few children in the collection that I knew. He taught me a lesson of forbearance and acceptance of my situation.

This image reminded me of a similar child who sadly did not survive. He came to my department to be examined regularly, slowly dying of respiratory failure due to intractable nephrotic syndrome. Even in extremis he always had a smile for me, always trying to comfort his grieving parents.

In this image I have tried to depict both the darkness and, through the shadows, the light.

Chest 50 C

Chest 50; Through Darkness, Light

This image was first posted on Thursday, on Friday I thought it needed further work, and today Saturday, it is re-posted after moving various highlights. Now it works better, giving a much improved sense of movement.

Leave a Reply

