Chest 62; Sensory deprivation

3 May
Image

Chest 62; Sensory deprivation

Have you ever experienced one of those moments of hyper acuity? Consciousness seems so sharp, the quality of the light, the smells, the sounds in the background, the gritty tactility of touch; all assume fresh and new meanings. It is this perception that I try to capture with this image.

The index X-ray comes from a premature infant in the neonatal intensive care unit. This infant was being ventilated when the endotracheal tube slipped down the right bronchus causing the left lung temporarily to collapse. This is a situation that requires rapid detection and immediate correction.

It has always seemed to me that the infant lying in those Intensive care cassettes suffers a degree of sensory deprivation as it is insulated from the sensations of life. At the moment of birth, the infant emerges from a dark, warm uterus, where even sound is subdued, into a world where suddenly it is subjected to light and noise, cold, tactile stimuli, and the overwhelming requirement to breathe. The contrast cannot be greater. The sensation must be dimly reflected in those acutely aware moments we rarely encounter in adult life.

 

Image

Chest 62 variation 2;

Being me….. I couldn’t help fiddling around with this image, and so I created this. Personally I prefer the first, it means more to me, but the second has a greater general appeal. Once again I would appreciate comments from any readers.

 

 

8 Responses to “Chest 62; Sensory deprivation”

  1. Playamart - Zeebra Designs May 3, 2013 at 1:05 pm #

    they are both stunning. the first reminds me of how fragile life can be; the second makes me think of the power of a life force…

    your images continue to amaze me. what a gift!

    z

    • Xraypics May 3, 2013 at 1:06 pm #

      Gee that was fast, you must have been sitting on the computer! Again, many thanks for your comments – greatly appreciated.

      • Playamart - Zeebra Designs May 3, 2013 at 1:13 pm #

        yes,; at night is the only time the computer speed works well. it gets really good around two in the morning, not good if i can’t get my 8 hours’ after logging off!

        it’s ten here now, so it’s time to sign off!

        z

  2. leecleland May 11, 2013 at 7:47 pm #

    I had to comment on these 2 images but find that Playamart has said it all for me. There is something ethereal about the first one and the colours and line evoke power in the second. I like them both as they speak to different parts of me.

  3. readjanatraff May 12, 2013 at 10:12 am #

    I am wowed by both images…but particularly the first. A fascinating image that captures my eye and drew my interest deeper into the work and then kept me there. To me it symbolized what it feels like to walk in the woods and really be one with the surroundings…those rare times when I feel as though I am truly one with my environment. It is an interesting synthesis of body and earth. Thanks for sharing!

    • Xraypics May 12, 2013 at 10:14 am #

      Thankyou so much. I love it when the image touches someone, whatever is in there, like poetry comes from the heart – trite, but true. I liked your blog too. Tony

      • readjanatraff May 12, 2013 at 10:29 am #

        Nice. Thanks. True is just so, well, uhmm–true!!! Cheers

  4. Ruth Bailey May 17, 2013 at 9:21 pm #

    The first image fits the title better for me, as the gray patches seem to be obscuring the landscape behind it, depriving one of the complete sensation. However, I prefer the second image (under a different title) since your use of color and directional lines seem to be bringing life and sensation into the image. Ruth

Leave a Reply

