Chest 73; Floral tribute

22 Jun
Image

Chest 73; Floral Tribute

This is my first Xraypic commission. A young man that I know had an X-ray for Australian immigration authorities and asked me to make a picture using it. He is a gardener-horticulturalist, and when I asked him what he liked he said anything to do with nature. I was left wondering whether he meant flora, fauna, or simply the forces of nature. I had intended to produce a picture full of bush-fire with blackened trees and glowing embers but moved in the direction of a gardener’s delight.

Image

Chest 73a; Bush-fire version of the floral tribute

The images here included a view down the valley along the road I go to work each day, red tipped grasses in bloom all down the slope. To give the picture texture I used a picture of bright red fallen petals under a tree. The weathered stump came from a beach in Maui. In terms of composition I tried to guide the eye in a vortex into the centre of the picture where there is dark hole containing the embers of a fire situated right at the heart of the Chest X-ray.

Image

Rudyard Kipling; Pau Amma, The crab that played with the sea

The structure of my image reminds me somewhat of the drawing in Rudyard Kipling’s Just So Stories for the Crab that Played with the Sea. It shows a large arch-like king crab Pau-Amma rising out of Pusat Tasek as tall as the smoke from three volcanoes, towering over a canoe with the mariners in it. Come to think of it, I probably learned, from Kipling’s book, to describe my pictures in words.

And so, for my young friend I’ve included references to nature in all its forms.

3 Responses to “Chest 73; Floral tribute”

  1. Playamart - Zeebra Designs June 22, 2013 at 10:13 pm #

    Congratulations on your commission! It must have been fun to start with a healthy person’s image and work outward with subject matter that appeals to that person.

    Great job; he should treasure it!

    Z

  2. rabirius June 23, 2013 at 12:28 am #

    The colored pictures look really interesting and surreal.
    I like them very much.

  3. leecleland June 23, 2013 at 9:49 am #

    Congratulations on your commission and well done. I love the gardeners delight as it leads the eye to the glowing embers and yet has an overall joyful light feel. And what a very personal piece of art.

Leave a Reply

