Chest 77; Hampton Hump

14 Jul
Image

Chest 77; Hampton Hump

Tiny balconies of a Japanese tower block are just visible in the background of this image. This is overlain with a close-up photo of a porcelain design showing a spiral terminating in a large clump in the centre of the image. It symbolises the transit of a thrombus through the blood vessels till it impacts in the capillaries of the lung.

The X-ray is of a man with a pulmonary embolus after a long-haul aeroplane flight to Japan. Blood supply to a segment of the right lung is obstructed by a thrombus producing a small triangular opacity known as Hampton’s hump. This radiological sign is rare, and subject to interpersonal interpretation so is not very reliable.

7 Responses to “Chest 77; Hampton Hump”

  1. leecleland July 14, 2013 at 9:37 am #

    I find this image fascinating. Incorporating the porcelain spiral leading the eye in was a stroke of genius. The deep orange glow is how I imagine the heat of an inflamation would look if we could see inside to that source. May I ask how many layers did you end up using for this piece?

    • Xraypics July 14, 2013 at 10:30 am #

      Thankyou so much for your comment and enquiry. Oddly this is a simpler one, with relatively little filtering and processing.. Layer 1 is brightly coloured orange flowers. Layer 2 is the Japanese slum tower block. Layer 3 is the spiral, cut and fairly heavily processed – edge enhancement, etc. Layer 4 the X-ray, areas of white deleted. Layer 5 the duplicate spiral, mostly masked, just the head left and coloured with touched with red to bring it to the front. I was in undecided about an iris blur on the tower block, but didn’tt. I’m pleased you like it, thanks for visiting. Tony

      • leecleland July 14, 2013 at 7:28 pm #

        Oh my gosh! and I think doing one texture layer is being daring. You’ve given me some food for thought though and I’ll now have to do some playing with more than one layer.

      • Xraypics July 14, 2013 at 10:37 pm #

        I just have fun and enjoy seeing what different textures do to each other when various filters are used.. I often start with three, add or cut back, chuck some, and duplicate others. One of the previous blogs goes through exactly how I constructed it – I think there were nine layers. Try it! out. I hope you have fun too. Cheerio, Tony

      • leecleland July 15, 2013 at 12:18 pm #

        I do remember that post but think I’ll start a little less ambitiously than 9 layers 🙂

      • Xraypics July 15, 2013 at 12:42 pm #

        Do you have photoshop? I started using Paint.net which is much more intuitive and learned the basics from that. Most of my early pictures were, as you say, one layer. Perhaps I should simplify a little and move back to that. My daughter in law worked for a large art institution in the US for a while and they would email pictures around the office, anyone could modify them in PS but they weren’t allowed to add layers. A great exercise in using the program, i wish I’d had that kind of experience. Tony

      • leecleland July 15, 2013 at 9:03 pm #

        I have Photoshop Elements 10 which allows me to do a fair bit (so I read). I’m slowly trying different things but layers are a bit of a hit and miss thing with me and I’d rather be outside when the sun is shining. My “Quilters Project 52” is taking up more time than I thought, leaving less for other things – excuses I know 🙂
        Please don’t go back to one layer in your images, I find them fascinating in their complexity and they give me something to strive towards. What a great learning experience for your daughter-in-law and what fun!

Leave a Reply

