Morphomitosis

6 Sep

At last! My animation can be found by following the link in Youtube:

http://youtu.be/BOIVjuX6cBU

A group of nine artists gathered to show their animations, these were shown as “Light on the Fringe” as an event with “Strand Ephemera”, a biennial exhibition that occurs in a beach-side park in Townsville.

Image

Light on the Fringe

The exhibition was delivered by Gallery services Townsville City Council and hosted by Umbrella Studio fro 30th August to 8th September 2013.

My offering – MORPHOMITOSIS was produced by rotoscoping a variety of videos that I had taken myself in Adobe Flash program.

I took the title by corrupting the title of Franz Kafka’s Metamorphosis. as Morphing and Mitosis – the biological process of cellular splitting, which is illustrated in the title sequence. The head and shoulders are my own, taken from a 3D rendering of my MRI performed during the morning warm-up of our departmental machine.

Image

3D MRI scan in morphomitosis

The next sequence shows me climbing out of my own brain, and morphing into a beetle on the ceiling. The beetle then morphs into a giraffe, from my childhood in Africa.

Image

Figure beginning to morph into a beetle

The giraffe then morphs into the wolf with greedy eyes from Prokofiev’s Peter and the Wolf  The wolf then morphs back into myself and I climb back inside my head and disappear by being rubbed out.

It is an intensely personal animation and refers back to all kinds of influences in my life.

I hope you enjoy it.

4 Responses to “Morphomitosis”

  1. Anita C. Miller September 7, 2013 at 12:11 am #

    Wonderful, Tony! It’s very playful but, scary, too! That’s how I remember feeling about Peter and the Wolf when I was young. Bravo!

    • Xraypics September 7, 2013 at 10:19 am #

      Thankyou so much. Both my children and grandchildren reacted the same way to the wolf music; hiding behind the sofa and peeking out. It is a wonderful work to introduce children to music. Tony

  2. leecleland September 7, 2013 at 9:05 pm #

    Oh, wow! That is very clever. I loved the linkage between the varying ideas. Hope it was well received, Lee

    • Xraypics September 7, 2013 at 9:45 pm #

      It was such fun to do this, the ideas just kept exploding but it was time consuming, and I had to cut back drastically! Every frame individually drawn – no gain without hard work, but worth it in the end. Tony

Leave a Reply

