Elements series No 5: Earth

11 Oct

Image

 

The last in the series of five on Life and the Elements, This is Earth. I took the source photos in a highway cutting in outback Queensland. The surfaces of the rock faces were scored, and textured; laminae of different colours ranging from almost pure white through yellow and browns to deep red. this image has four interacting rock layers together with a photo of the bush above the stone in exactly the same spot, and inclusion of  a chest X-ray. It surprised me by producing irregular areas of scintillating colour that look like opal veins. Opal is the Australian national stone, and definitely one of my favourite gems, so this was particularly pleasing for me.

 

 

 

 

2 Responses to “Elements series No 5: Earth”

  1. leecleland October 15, 2013 at 7:51 pm #

    Having read and studied the five I have to say this is a fabulous series, wonderful line and colour. My final favourite would have to be Earth, the opal colours and the fact that all images (apart from the X-ray) were taken in the same spot. They have formed an image that has many facets to it and many interpretations. Great series.

    • Xraypics October 16, 2013 at 6:35 am #

      Lee, thankyou so much for your comments on all five pictures. I really enjoyed doing this series. I love to get feedback (even when it is negative) because it spurs me on to further things. You give me heart. Cheerio, Tony..

Leave a Reply

