Chest 100; Fire and ice

12 Dec
Image

Chest 100; Fire and Ice

 

 

This is the one hundredth chest X-ray picture and I wanted it to be a little more dramatic than usual. The extent to which I have been successful is up to you to judge.

The Index X-ray was from a man with asbestosis who developed a cancer of lung and subsequently the left upper lobe of the lung was removed. The greenish fibrous lines represent blue asbestos associated with mesothelioma and enhances risk of lung cancer in those who smoke. Lung cancer development begins long after asbestos fibres have been inhaled into the lungs. Once they’re inhaled, they stick within the lung tissue because of their jagged structure. The hard mineral fibres cause irritation, inflammation and genetic damage, and tumour formation begins.

I have tried to contrast the chaotic (hot) swirling lines on the left of the image with the hard cold fibrous changes on the right, hence the title.

10 Responses to “Chest 100; Fire and ice”

  1. leecleland December 12, 2013 at 10:40 am #

    Congrats on 100 x-ray pictures. It has for me been a fascinating journey and I hope you are not going to stop here. Saw this picture in my posts and just went oooooo! very dramatic and I love the diagonal lines through the image.

    • Xraypics December 12, 2013 at 10:44 am #

      Thankyou. I am still enjoying the journey, and learning daily to critique my own work. I have a feeling that it should soon take a different direction, but for the meanwhile I’ll continue. Thankyou so much for your supportive comments Lee,

  2. kirsty warman December 12, 2013 at 10:44 am #

    Very nice movement. Looks great!

    • Xraypics December 12, 2013 at 10:47 am #

      Thankyou Kirsty, Tony

  3. Anita C. Miller December 12, 2013 at 1:07 pm #

    A very striking image… I immediately thought of the Great Barrier Reef when I saw it! I love that green diagonal shape which looks a bit like an exotic sea creature to me. Anyway, it’s quite beautiful and enigmatic (the entire image) and congrats on 100!

    • Xraypics December 12, 2013 at 1:51 pm #

      Thankyou Anita, It does have that quality doesn;t it. Many of the colours and shapes would be seen on the Barrier Reef too. I’m working on another that has references to underwater, it’ll be uploaded about Christmas time if I can get my finger out! Cheers, Tony

  4. Green Cathedral of South Africa December 12, 2013 at 3:07 pm #

    As a tourist I’ve once been at Heron Island in the Great Barrier Reef and was shocked by the number of labelled underwater life. That sat aside I was first thinking of my underwater experience near Lagos in Portugal but than that’s also the ocean (Atlantic). Like the original concept behind your images.
    😀
    Herman

    • Xraypics December 12, 2013 at 3:40 pm #

      Thanks for the comment, I’m completely mystified by the underwater labelling – – I’ll find out about that. Cheers, Tony

      • Green Cathedral of South Africa December 12, 2013 at 4:04 pm #

        Oh…. I can tell you that half of Heron Island is not accessible for tourists because of a maritime research institute of some kind. We went with a semi-submersible and were really shocked (was in 1993 I believe).
        Co-incidentally we heard last year the same story from South Africans who felt that they were also completely ripped off with all the add-ons they had to pay on the spot where they were told that everything was included when they booked their journey down under ….

        Greetings from a wonderful village in ‘down under’ South Africa
        Herman

  5. rabirius December 14, 2013 at 4:37 am #

    I really love the colouring here.

Leave a Reply

