Self Portrait 5; The Artist as an illusion

11 Jan
Image

Self-Portrait 5; The artist as illusion

The initial intention with this image was to create a Picassoesque picture in which both side and frontal views were perceptible as a single but coherent figure.

Image

Pablo Picasso, Head of a woman 1960. Metropolitan Museum NY. Picasso presents both full and profile views in a flattened simplified version of early cubist works to present simultaneous viewpoints.

I have yet to come anywhere close to the art of distortion such as that used by Picasso, Francis Bacon and others. Perhaps I am still too close to the original image. This is something to work upon. I have, however inadvertently created a figure-and-ground illusion in which it is difficult to hold the two images in the eye at the same time.

Image

Roger Shepherd.

The picture by Roger Shepherd (2) illustrates this nicely – do you see a woman partially obscured by a candlestick or two women looking at each other? (More on this at http://605.wikispaces.com/Figure+Ground  ). I find it fascinating that even though I created the collage, I still find it difficult to see one whilst looking at the other.

What strikes me about this portrait, this illusion, is that it is become a mask. The thing about a mask is that it disguises you, it hides you, it is not a window, but a wall. Behind it you may become something else – a demon, an animal or a God. In art everything is distorted, if only in bringing the 3D onto a two dimensional plane. Much of what I do in this series is accidental, and perhaps that is the way it should be. I know what I want to do, not necessarily how I did it, or even if I did it at all.

There is an element in this picture of the kiss of Judas.

5 Responses to “Self Portrait 5; The Artist as an illusion”

  1. Playamart - Zeebra Designs January 11, 2014 at 5:22 pm #

    wow!  it’s my good fortune to be awake at a late hour and catch this while the slow internet will open the images!  double wow!  

    i love this post!

    z

    ________________________________

    • Xraypics January 11, 2014 at 5:30 pm #

      Thankyou so much Lisa. Hey it’s good to hear from you again, glad your internet is working, and pleased you like this. Tony

  2. leecleland January 11, 2014 at 7:14 pm #

    Oh yes, yes this is clever, a very strong image. It took me a while but I can see both faces, just not at once as you said. Both sides of the image appear to have a hood over the hair made by the X-ray (?) which makes me think of Scott of the Antarctic and/or Robin Hood. I think the facial expression helps there. Like a chameleon you, the artist, are hidden from us, you hope to blend in and yet with that strong gaze you draw us in, but there is nothing to find

    • Xraypics January 11, 2014 at 8:07 pm #

      Great observation Lee, the ribs do look like a cowl on the left. I didn;t see that nor made the association before. Thankyou. Tony

  3. Carolyn November 17, 2014 at 8:50 am #

    I love the mask analogy. We all wear masks- emotionally or socially. Penetrating the veils can be quite disturbing. This is a great biographical portrait Tony. Thank you for sharing it.

Leave a Reply

