Chest 107; Rocky Road

15 Aug
Chest 107 C

Chest 107; Rocky Road

It has been some time since I was last able to put a picture onto my blog, the time has not, however, been wasted.
I’ve applied for two formal exhibitions in one of the local galleries; the first with a series of about ten images as a formal showing. The second in a confined space (the gallery is an old bank, it’s in the old safe-room) with a few small printed pictures, and a loop video of a picture in the process of development. Along with this I’ve offered a morning workshop in Photoshop introducing techniques I’ve discovered through trial and error over the past couple of years. Now the decision of the gallery committee is awaited.
James Cook University has bought a dozen pictures to hang in the newly built clinic corridors. It was astounding to discover how expensive framing is, particularly at the size (A1) of these prints. Any advice or guidance from fellow artists would be most gratefully received. The pictures have been hung up in one of the erstwhile dingy corridors, the colours in the prints have brightened it up considerably. Most pleasing was the number of comments received from people as they walked along. Gives some credibility to the work.
I’m also in the process of producing a set of hand-puppets for a traditional Punch and Judy show. This is an ambition that I’ve had for many years. The original plan was to purchase puppets, but good ones start at $300 each, to get a full set was prohibitively expensive. I’ve therefore had to make my own – and it is much more fun. See the beginnings of my blog at http://www.punchandjudyblog.wordpress.com where some of the technique and pictures of the puppets in progress have been uploaded. After making the heads I politely asked my wife if she would kindly make costumes – but answer came there none! If I had known how fiddly and labour intensive it would be I probably wouldn’t have started, but I didn’t. So, rushing in where fools fear to tread, started work on that. It has been a steep learning curve!
The image I’m loading today is highly fragmented and rather explosive. The base X-ray was brought to the front of the image and given a strong texture. This comes from a woman with a large tumour in the chest – a single one, potentially removable, but nevertheless an explosive situation. The underlying colour is unrelated to the X-ray but comes from a red leaf and the reflections on the side of a blue soft-drink dispenser. Together they help to mix about ten layers. There is a layer of texture provided by a picture of wood-chip mulch, and a layer using the highlights of the mulch to bring out the fragmentation even further. Several layers provide detail upon detail trying to bring the layers forward, and others are there to hide what is behind.

7 Responses to “Chest 107; Rocky Road”

  1. leecleland August 15, 2014 at 8:53 pm #

    Welcome back, Tony. I had missed your fascinating work and am pleased to hear you have not been idle but have been busy drumming up a storm, so to speak 🙂 Hope all your hard work comes to frutition. I would be pleased to hear what you find out about framing as I have friends who did courses to learn how to cut mats and frame their own work because of the cost to have someone else do it for them. A frame can make or break an image and at present I am going with stretched canvases – no frame.

    • Xraypics August 15, 2014 at 11:09 pm #

      Thankyou Lee, I framed the works using 600×900 poster frames from one of the cheapo shops, and printed the images to fit. White area on the sides are a little wider than I’d like. Mattes were more expensive than the frames – uncut! Sorting and sourcing that was a hassle. I did consider framing myself, but in the past my efforts haven;t been that successful, I’d have to invest in some good equipment, not a problem in itself, but a bit time consuming. The first couple of prints were onto stretched canvas. I found that quite successful but the extra detail from the canvas texture tended to distract from those textural details I put into the picture; have given that up and now print on high gloss photo-paper which displays the image textures so well….. Tony

      • leecleland August 16, 2014 at 5:46 am #

        Thanks for the follow up Tony. Yes I can see with your images in particular canvas would destroy a lot of the finer details. It’s amazing how mattes are so much more expensive than anything else. I guess if you knew you would be selling heaps of framed prints it would be worthwhile the investment in good framing equipment but I’ve used cheap poster frames myself and found them OK, main plus was they were fairly unobtrusive. Just finding where to start can be the most difficult thing. All the best with the galleries.

  2. elmediat August 16, 2014 at 12:53 am #

    Checked out the Punch & Judy blog. Even more creativity from your magic bag of wonders. Best of luck with all your artistic endeavours . 🙂

    • Xraypics August 17, 2014 at 8:17 am #

      Thanks, it’s all about having fun. Tony

  3. Anita C. Miller August 17, 2014 at 12:46 pm #

    Tony, this is great news! Hope all goes well for you and congratulations on the sale to James Cook University. I know what you mean about the framing costs. I have no solution, unfortunately. I usually just paint on canvas on thicker stretcher bars that don’t require framing. I can see how the canvas weave would interfere with your imagery, though. I’m glad you’re back… I’ve missed seeing your dynamic work.

    • Xraypics August 17, 2014 at 4:57 pm #

      Thank you so much Anita. I am feeling quite chuffed at the moment, but realise there is a long way to go before being recognised as an artist. This will spur me on. Tony

Leave a Reply

