Chest 113; Where the smoke goes

27 Dec
Chest 113 Where smoke goes C

Chest 113; Where the Smoke goes

I am preparing for an art installation in September 2015 and thoughts are turning about how to do this. One of my ideas, likely to be heavily modified as I realise the problems involved, is to project an animation of the development of one of my digital pictures from the source images into a piece of art.

To this end I have been experimenting with recording every phase of a picture as it is made and have come up with 30 images, starting with the source X-ray and passing through various iterations until I am satisfied with the outcome.

I’m not sure that I will use this image, however it is a start.

The X-ray was from a man, a smoker with severe emphysema and a lot of nasty changes in the lung that looks like the development of a lung cancer. My thought process revolved around air, wind, fresh air and polluted air, trees and leaves, cancerous invasion with fire and fury, and I wanted to direct the message of this image towards those ideas.

As reference images I included trees and grass from our paddock, an autumn red leaf close-up, and a strange triffid-looking plant encountered on a windy hillside in Hawaii on a previous holiday.

Colours (2)

Green colour

Flowers (3)

Triffid plant in Hawaii

Red Leaf (1)

Autumn leaf closeup

Trees (8)

Paddock, eucalyptus trees

Weeds (2)

Long grass and weeds

Here are the base pictures, with a few of the intermediate images. I used mainly the blending modes “Difference” and “Pin Light”. I left both the X-ray and triffid as “Normal” and using the “Magic Wand” tool subtracted large amounts of unwanted information, using the interesting shapes that were left to mask between different layers. Both of these layers were enhanced in “Effects” using a “Drop shadow” on one and “Bevel & Emboss” on the other. Insertion of a “Normal” layer as a mask means that the blending effects below are nullified producing a contrast with those that are not masked.  I warped the triffid in the “Transform” mode under “Edit” as part of the composition so that the point where the cancer is developing was focussed in the lower right – following the rule of thirds.  I finally colour-enhanced using the “Curves” adjustment.

The resulting image is dramatic and quite violent. It gives the impression of collapsing in flames.

One Response to “Chest 113; Where the smoke goes”

  1. leecleland December 28, 2014 at 6:21 am #

    Violent is the right word for this image Tony. Wonderful that you are having another exhibition in 2015. By animation do you mean a slideshow, which I think would be very informative for the public at the exhibition in Sept. I enjoyed seeing the included images and details of how you used them in the final image, which by the way is masterful.

Leave a Reply

