Shadows

25 Mar

This is a challenge post, I was given the subject SHADOWS. the final image is a relatively simple one composed of three images fused using a single filter.

The first is an image of my hand thrown by the setting sun on a metal shutter.

Shadow 1

 

The second contains a picture of my shadow on the path ahead. It was very hot and humid. When I took the camera out of the car the lens fogged up producing an amazingly ghostlike picture.

Shadows 2

 

The final picture contains a chest X-ray of a woman with a tumour in her lung. for may years this would be referred to euphemistically as a “Shadow” on the lung. The X-ray itself is a shadow picture.

Shadows 3

The hand appears to be pointing towards the tumour.

 

At the suggestion of Jamesgmoon below, I have increased the size of the X-ray. I’m not sure….. it has a certain je ne sais quaoi but I don’t know what it is. note, the tumour, which was the point of the picture is no longer visible. Any comments?

Shadows 4

4 Responses to “Shadows”

  1. leecleland March 25, 2016 at 4:18 pm #

    I like the inclusion of the steps you took for this image Tony, and it fits the challenge perfectly. A really neat idea.

  2. jamesgmoon March 25, 2016 at 7:14 pm #

    better have full size of chest able to cover all including hand pic.

    • Xraypics March 25, 2016 at 10:34 pm #

      Thanks for the comment Jamesgmoon. I have done as you suggested and published. Do you prefer it? I’m not so sure, I liked the square within the square and the pointing to the tumour effect. but I’d value your comments.

    • Carolyn Gallon March 26, 2016 at 8:19 am #

      I prefer the abstraction in the negative spaces. The hand “leads ” one into the composition, thereby almost reaching out or into the chest . Gives one the feeling the tumour can be removed or healed.

Leave a Reply

