Y is for a Young infant

14 May
Y for Young Infant J

Y is for Young Infant

So this challenge has been a particularly hard one for me. I thought about Y chromosome deletions but I’ve already done that (X0), or Yeast infections (Thrush). I also wondered about Yersinia infection. I worked for a while with a tiny Jewish guy who ran the laboratory. When I knew him, he seemed to be about a hundred years old. He couldn’t have been because he had a lovely wife who also worked in his laboratory. He described human infection with Yersinia pseudotuberculosis in the United Kingdom. It is implicated, (but as far as I know it’s not proven) in Crohns disease as Yersinia enterocolitica and of course Plague (otherwise known as Black Death)as Yersinia pestis. But I digress.

I decided to use Young Infant as the index term. I worked with infants for about six months before moving to radiology. As a consultant, newborns and their diagnostic problems were part of my daily work for many years. Infant X-rays strike terror into the hearts of trainees; there’s no good reason why they should. There are only a limited number of conditions that affect infants. So I break the diagnostic process into segments by age, clinical presentation, and so on, to try and simplify things for them.

The infant in this image taken at 2 hours of age was a very young preterm born at 30 weeks almost ten weeks too early. He developed many of the complications of prematurity such as hyaline membrane disease, but survived due to the skill of the neonatal paediatric team.

 

4 Responses to “Y is for a Young infant”

  1. leecleland May 15, 2016 at 9:08 am #

    Love the image Tony – but you forgot to tell us what you did and what other bits of imagery you included. I find it all (the words and the inclusions) fascinating. Particularly as you seem to use the Difference blend mode a lot which gives your work a distinctive look.

    • Xraypics May 15, 2016 at 9:54 pm #

      Hi, apart from the green frame, I used just two pictures with the X-ray which had a LUMINOSITY blend. One was a blue swirl in a Japanese bowl, and the other was a sheet of rusty iron which gives the spotty texture at the top; the former had a DIFFERENCE and the latter an OVERLAY blend. Both were heavily masked, as was the X-ray itself, and under everything a sheet of plain white. I warped the swirl into a Phi spiral (as close as i could get) and selected the highlights, using a narrow tolerance on the wand, which were then copied and pasted on top, given a contour and shadow effect, and the edges were allowed to overlap the frame.

      • leecleland May 17, 2016 at 6:36 pm #

        Thanks Tony, I haven’t used the Luminosity blend mode much at all but I like what you have done here. The contour and shadow effect worked really well. Some interesting ideas as I’m getting a little bogged down at the moment as textures are soooo easy to do when you get the right one. Must experiment some more.

      • Xraypics May 17, 2016 at 7:59 pm #

        One thing this has taught me is the value of ’empty’ spaces. You seem to use those very well!

Leave a Reply

